British alt-pop band Flawes will release their new EP ‘Lowlights’ on May 13

Following the release of their debut album Highlights in January, the London-based band have announced Lowlights – an EP of four songs taken from the album and stripped back to their rawest form.

Known for their polished production and huge awe-inspiring live performances, Flawes’ Lowlights gives the listener an opportunity to get to know the band on a much deeper level. In addition, undeterred by lockdown, the band have been recording and releasing a series of impressive ‘Isolation Sessions’, with each member performing remotely from their own home.

The band have also unveiled a video of the Lowlights’ version of one of their most anthemic songs ‘Look No Further’, the intimate recording revealing the intricacies and emotion of the track.

The band explains:

Lowlights’ is a selection of songs from our debut album that have been stripped right down to their bare bones. We love to create a huge wall of sound when playing live, so to mix things up we decided to challenge ourselves and take the complete opposite approach”

“The songs are so exposed, there’s almost nowhere to hide. ‘Don’t Count Me Out’ in particular is literally just a piano and vocal, taking the song right back to where it started life.”

In what has been an exciting 3 years for the trio, Flawes famously received support from Radio 1 even before they’d performed live. After the two years touring that followed (including shows with Ella Eyre, Maximo Park, Francis and the Lights, Chloe Howl and Safia), JC, Huss and Freddie took a step back, re-calibrated, and crafted the sound that would go on to define them.

Their debut album Highlights is the musical embodiment of this; the band’s sonic evolution over the years. The result is a collection of the very best of their bolder, sleeker and uplifting sound, tailor-made for both dancefloors and festival fields.

Flawes also performed as part of the inaugural Red Bull Records Virtual Festival last weekend, joining label-mates Beartooth and The Aces among others.

Listen to the album here:

The band are currently working on brand new songs with more releases to be announced later this year.

The upcoming Lowlights Track Listing will include:

  1. Here To Stay
  2. Don’t Count Me Out
  3. When We Were Young
  4. Look No Further

The EP will be released via Red Bull Records on May 13.





Let me know what’s up!

Be up to date of the news and events from Asia Live 365