Matt Sweeney and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy announce new album ‘Superwolves’

The duo’s new album, Superwolves, will be released digitally on April 30 and available physically on June 18. The pair have also shared a new song and music video titled ‘Hall of Death’.

Guitarist Matt Sweeney and singer-songwriter Will Oldham (aka Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy) have announced their second album, Superwolves. The album, which is a follow-up to their 2005 debut LP, Superwolf, will be available digitally later this year on April 30 and physically on June 18.

The new record has reportedly been in development for over five years, however, recording started well over a year ago at Brooklyn-based studio Strange Weather and the Butcher Shoppe in Nashville.

In addition to the announcement, the pair have released a new single and music video titled ‘Hall of Death’. The release follows their single ‘Make Worry For Me’ from last year.

The song was co-written by the duo with guitarist and producer Ahmoudou Madassane, who plays rhythm electric guitar on the song. They are joined by bandmates Mdou Moctar on lead guitar, Mike Coltun on electric bass, and Souleyman Ibrahim on drums.

The accompanying MV was directed by Sai Selvarajan and Jeff Bednarz.

Production on the album was worked on separately by the two musicians, with Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy sending the lyrics to Matt Sweeney. Afterwards, the guitarist adds the chords and melody. The two would then meet up to record and finalize each track.

Oldham says,

“The chemistry comes from lives, lived separately, in which music is crucial sustenance. We listen with gratitude and awe, knowing that we belong in there. We construct our dream selves with the faith that these selves will have their chance at life. We know what we are capable of doing and just need each other’s support to bring the imagined languages to life.”

Sweeney adds,

“I love the challenge to write melodies for Will to sing. Struggle with that challenge too. Knowing that Will’s voice will elevate the melody makes me reach higher and dig deeper for the tune. Makes me want to match it with a guitar part that holds his voice like a chalice holds wine (or blood, or whatever is needed to live the best life). I also love singing harmonies and responses to this voice of his.”

Album artwork by Harmony Korine

1. Make Worry For Me
2. Good To My Girls
3. God Is Waiting
4. Hall of Death
5. Shorty’s Ark
6. I Am A Youth Inclined to Ramble
7. My Popsicle
8. Watch What Happens
9. Resist the Urge
10. There Must Be a Someone
11. My Blue Suit
12. My Body is My Own
13. You Can Regret What You Have Done
14. Not Fooling

Superwolves is available to pre-order on vinyl, coloured vinyl, and CD. Digital pre-orders can be made through here.

Revisit Matt Sweeney and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy’s Superwolf via Spotify below.

Cover photo credit: Jonah Freeman & Justin Lowe





Let me know what’s up!

Be up to date of the news and events from Asia Live 365