Waxflower have unveiled their highly anticipated debut EP We Might Be Alright, a five-track package of the Brisbane band’s heartfelt pop punk, out now via Rude Records.

The extended release sees the four piece continue to delve into optimistic themes as they explore the realities of living with mental illness.

Explains frontman Tristan Higginson:

“The name ‘We Might Be Alright’ is a representation of this, but there is more to the full product. The writing of the EP happened alongside me overcoming my crippling anxiety and panic disorder. Although that was a net positive, it came with the new challenge of having to shed the way I saw and projected myself due to those struggles. I had to replace my anxious life with a “normal” one.

“This was scary to me because although my time living in the grasp of my anxiety was horrible, it led to this band, the songs, the tours that would eventually help me to overcome it. It’s the reason why shows like The Voice focus on the sob stories more than the singing. It’s an interesting part of the human experience, and there is a part of me that thinks we’re only valid in our scene if we continue brooding. It’s something that I’m still coming to terms with, and this EP catalogues these thoughts in each track.

“This is our first cohesive release. I think it’s a perfect representation of what we’ve learned over the last year or two as well as the experiences I’ve had along the way. Hopefully people can resonate with its optimism, the world surely needs some right now.”

The arrival of We Might Be Alright follows previous singles ‘Food For Your Garden’, ‘Not Alone’ and ‘Again’, which garnered support from the likes of MSN Entertainment Philippines, Boleh Music (ID), LionhearTV (PH), Headbangkok (TH), Finite Zine (PH), and AsiaLive365 (SG, TH). The band also received additions to  Spotify’s New Punk Tracks, Pop Punk’s Not Dead as well as Apple Music’s New In Alternative, New In Rock, Rise And Grind + Amazon’s Fresh Rock.

Fresh from releasing a trio of standout singles that saw them conquer their debut headline shows in February 2020, including a sold-out hometown performance, Waxflower returned in June with their hard-hitting single, ‘Sixteen Floors’. Released alongside the announcement of their signing to independent European label Rude Records (Saves The Day, Gideon, Blood Youth, Sleep On It), ‘Sixteen Floors’ clocked up support from international heavyweights Kerrang! and Rock Sound, as well as being named the ‘Next Big Thing’ by HMV.

In September, Waxflower followed up with a powerfully poignant stripped back single, ‘Getting Better’, which saw their success grow both domestically and across the globe. To close out the year, the band returned with ‘Again’, a taste of a new era for the Brisbane pop punk four-piece which received both domestic and international support from the likes of Happy Mag, Hysteria, triple j Unearthed, triple j, Kerrang!, and Rock Sound. ‘Not Alone’ rang in the New Year for Waxflower, following in the footsteps of its predecessor with continued growing global support.

Waxflower have been growing an impressive resume of supports for such a young band, having shared the stage with the likes of Between You & Me, Stand Atlantic, Sly Withers & more as well as supporting US giants Simple Plan and The Dangerous Summer.

Taking reference from 2000’s legends Kisschasy & Jimmy Eat World, Waxflower merge nostalgia with progressive melodies and catchy hooks to bring a genuine and unique perspective on alternative rock.

Jam out to the debut EP below.

Cover photo: Mitch Lowe