Cat Power announces new ‘Covers’ album

Vocalist and songwriter Cat Power will release her new album Covers on January 14, 2022 via Domino. It is the musician’s third cover album featuring reimagined versions of songs by her favorite artists.

Cat Power will release her new album, Covers, next year on January 14, 2022. The album is the third record consisting of cover songs by other renowned artists, following 2008’s Jukebox and 2000’s The Covers Record.

The announcement was made after Cat Power, real name Chan Marshall, performed a unique take of Frank Ocean’s ‘Bad Religion’ on The Late Late Show with James Corden.

Marshall conceived of the idea of covering the song while on tour for her previous album, Wanderer.

She says,

“That song was bringing me down. So I started pulling out lyrics from ‘Bad Religion’ and singing those instead of getting super depressed. Performing covers is a very enjoyable way to do something that feels natural to me when it comes to making music.”

The artist, who previously released her critically-acclaimed 2018 album Wanderer, also shared a cover of The Pogues’ ‘A Pair of Brown Eyes’. The track has been described by Marshall as a ‘personal favourite’.

Cover songs have always been a essential part of Marshall’s artistry, with Pitchfork commenting that she can ‘rearrange a song simply by squinting at it.’

Covers is singlehandedly produced by Marshall and will feature song reworks by Frank Ocean, Bob Seger, Lana Del Rey, Jackson Browne, Iggy Pop, The Pogues, Nick Cave and The Replacements, among others.

The album will also feature an updated version of her own song ‘Hate’ from her 2006 album The Greatest. The track will be retitled as ‘Unhate’ for the new record.

The album will feature a powerful rendition of Billie Holiday’s ‘I’ll Be Seeing You’ as the closing track. The cover was inspired by Marshall’s recent losses of close ones including longtime collaborator Phillippe Zdar, who tragically passed away in 2019 and was behind mixing duties for her 2012 album Sun.

She comments,

“When people who you love have been taken from you, there’s always a song that holds their memory in your mind. It’s a conversation with those on the other side, and it’s really important for me to reach out to people that way.”

Covers Tracklist

1. Bad Religion – Frank Ocean
2. Unhate – Cat Power – Chan Marshall
3. Pa Pa Power – Dead Man’s Bones
4. White Mustang – Lana Del Rey
5. A Pair of Brown Eyes – The Pogues
6. Against the Wind – Bob Seger
7. Endless Sea – Iggy Pop
8. These Days – Jackson Browne
9. It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels – Kitty Wells
10. I Had a Dream Joe – Nick Cave
11. Here Comes a Regular – The Replacements
12. I’ll Be Seeing You – Billie Holiday

Cat Power’s Wanderer album marked her debut on the Domino music label, receiving rave reviews from the likes of The New York Times, The Guardian, The Cut.

The record led to her performing an NPR Tiny Desk Concert as well as a duet with Lana Del Rey on the single ‘Woman’.

Photo credit: Mario Sorrenti





Let me know what’s up!

Be up to date of the news and events from Asia Live 365