Exploring the challenges he faced in life and love, Grammy Award-winning artist PJ Morton’s next studio album will arrive April 29.

PJ Morton’s newest album features 11 all new original songs with a wealth of special guest appearances including Chronixx, JoJo & Mr. Talkbox, Stevie Wonder & Nas, Wale, Jill Scott & Alex Isley, El DeBarge, Zacardi Cortez, Gene Moore, Samoht, Tim Rogers and Darrel ‘MusiqCity’ Walls

He says,

“I’m being more honest, more authentic, more open than I’ve been in the past. As much as people know about me, I’m pretty private about specifics, but these were some real things going on in my life. So it manifested with lyrics that pushed myself – not just going with the first thing or the thing that felt good, but making sure that I challenged myself to go deeper.”

Among Watch The Sun’s many highlights are previously released singles ‘Please Don’t Walk Away’, which PJ Morton recently performed on Jimmy Kimmel Live!


There’s also the self-care anthem ‘My Peace’ the followup to his duet single ‘Say So’ with JoJo.

Morton explains:

“One of my main rules is to not think of guests while I’m creating. When you think of the guest first, it becomes about what would fit for them instead of just making the best song I can make. Every guest is there in a super-intentional way – not because of who they are, but because they fit on these songs.”

Earlier this week, PJ Morton earned a GRAMMY Award for Album Of The Year, honouring his contributions to Jon Batiste’s ‘We Are’.

The accomplishment marks his fourth consecutive GRAMMY, adding to wins for Best Gospel Album in 2021, Best R&B Song in 2020, and Best Traditional R&B Performance in 2019.

Photo Credit: Laiken Joy