The Smile will release their highly anticipated debut album A Light For Attracting Attention on May 13 via XL Recordings.

The Smile, consisting of Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner, have announced their debut album will be out on May 13.

Produced by Nigel Godrich and mastered by Bob Ludwig, the 13-track album includes previously released singles ‘Pana-vision’, ‘You Will Never Work in Television Again’, ‘The Smoke’, and ‘Skrting on the Surface’.


Today, the band has shared a new single titled ‘Free In The Knowledge’ with an accompanying MV directed by Leo Leigh.

The track was first performed by Thom Yorke as part of the Letters Live event at London’s Royal Albert Hall in December.

A Light For Attracting Attention will be released by XL Recordings on digital, CD and vinyl formats.

A Light for Attracting Attention | The Smile

A Light For Attracting Attention Tracklist:

  1. The Same
  2. The Opposite
  3. You Will Never Work in Television Again
  4. Pana-vision
  5. The Smoke
  6. Speech Bubbles
  7. Thin Thing
  8. Open The Floodgates
  9. Free In The Knowledge
  10. A Hairdryer
  11. Waving A White Flag
  12. We Don’t Know What Tomorrow Brings
  13. Skrting On The Surface

The Smile will embark on their 2022 European tour beginning in Croatia on May 16, following UK dates in London, Edinburgh, and Manchester. They will close the tour with a performance in Taormina, Sicily on July 20.