Tom Morello and Phantogram collaborate on new track ‘Driving To Texas’

Two-time Grammy Award-winning rock guitarist Tom Morello has released an emotionally moving single, ‘Driving To Texas’, featuring electro-rock duo Phantogram.

The track is the latest from Morello’s forthcoming record,The Atlas Underground Fire, which features an impressive number of collaborators from renowned artists.

Tom Morello has shared his newest collaborative single from his forthcoming album, The Atlas Underground Fire, out October 15 via Mom + Pop.

The new track, titled ‘Driving To Texas’, features haunting vocals from electronic rock duo Phantogram’s Sarah Barthel.

Morello says,

“I’d worked with Josh from Phantogram on my first Atlas Underground album and I was thrilled when he and Sarah reached out about collaborating on this record. This song is creepy as hell –a dark journey, a struggle for a tortured soul. The guitar solo needed to feel like a vengeful angel who has come down to decide the fate of the protagonist. Will they descend into the abyss or will they find redemption? ‘Driving To Texas’ really shows the breadth of the music you’ll hear on this record. Sarah has one of the most haunting and beautiful voices of anyone singing today, and Josh’s production is stylistically so fresh and eerie.”

The Atlas Underground Fire features a jaw dropping cast of guest artists including Bruce Springsteen, Eddie Vedder, Chris Stapleton, Mike Posner, Damian Marley, and more.

Morello shared the album’s first single, ‘Highway To Hell’, last month featuring Springsteen and Vedder. The song is a cover to the classic AC/DC rock anthem.

Also read: Tom Morello shares cover of ‘Highway to Hell’ featuring Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder

The album was created during the current global pandemic, and was made from his home studio in Los Angeles while sharing files with collaborators around the world.

The Atlas Underground Fire Track Listing: 

  1. Harlem Hellfighter
  2. Highway to Hell (featuring Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder)
  3. Let’s Get The Party Started (featuring Bring Me The Horizon)
  4. Driving to Texas (featuring Phantogram)
  5. The War Inside (featuring Chris Stapleton)
  6. Hold The Line (featuring grandson)
  7. Naraka (featuring Mike Posner)
  8. The Achilles List (featuring Damian Marley)
  9. Night Witch (featuring phem)
  10. Charmed I’m Sure (featuring Protohype)
  11. Save Our Souls (featuring Dennis Lyxzén of Refused)
  12. On The Shore Of Eternity (featuring Sama’ Abdulhadi)

The record is available for pre-order now here.

Photo credit: Travis Shinn





Let me know what’s up!

Be up to date of the news and events from Asia Live 365